Fourth of July

Go ask your mother for fifty-cents
to see the elephant jump the fence.

He jumped so high, he touched the sky
and didn’t come down ’til the Fourth of July!

When I was I child my mother used to recite this rhyme.  I have very early memories of her saying it.  Here’s a  version of the Rufus Thomas song, Walking the Dog, that includes this little rhyme and other nursery rhymes. I like it because the guitarist, Brian Jones, I think, “whistles for the dog” in the same way my dad used to whistle for our dog and, as I recall, for my brothers and me when we had wandered off.  Skinny young Mick Jagger muffs and changes the words of the rhyme, but that’s his prerogative as the reciter of a folk rhyme.

Leave a Reply

