last songs of childhood

Nate and Matt

I have been feeling a shift in the ground these days as my buds  are moving slowly into their own orbits of life. One is graduating from college and the other from high school. I attended a house church Catholic Mass this evening, and we sang this Peter, Paul and Mary song. I’m not sure it’s a religious song, but songs of love between people get drafted into the Christian praise genre. It’s alright; there are connections I guess. I thought of my sons when they needed my hand, in the press of the crowd outside Fenway, getting through a busy airport. I thought of the messed-up world they are inheriting from my generation. I was hopeful in the thought of their youth, their impressive capacities and their inspiring strengths.

 

Leave a Reply

