Four Strong Winds

The spirit of my imagination inclines toward the great plains of this country, and up and away to western Canada. Or, it goes east to the Atlantic and to the coast of Scandinavia. I grew up on the edge of the prairie. I have spent most of my adult life near the New England coastline, so that wide horizon is rest for my eyes as well. Based on an early experience in the desert of the Middle East, and to an overdone affection for the desert texts of the Hebrew and Christian scriptures, I am drawn to the desert Southwest. But in times of transition, as when my boys are getting ready to make moves, my thoughts are drawn to the prairie of my own childhood. Here’s a country/folk song from the Canadian prairie. Many people have covered this song, but Neil Young’s old-fashioned high voice owns it.

Leave a Reply

