My Reepicheep

get-attachment[1] - Copy

My son  Nate graduates from high school this weekend. He used to be my bold little battler, fearless, cheerful, undefeated by anything.  When my oldest son Matt and I read all the volumes of The Chronicles of Narnia together, the character of Reepicheep reminded both of us of Nate, then a little boy.

Nate is no longer a little, but he is still an adventurer, with unfailing courage.  He’ll start at MIT in the fall.

“I hope it will never be told in Narnia that a company of noble and royal persons in the flower of their age turned tail because they were afraid of the dark.”

“But what manner of use would it be ploughing through that blackness?” asked Drinian.

“Use?” replied Reepicheep. “Use, Captain? If by use you mean filling our bellies or our purses, I confess it would be no use at all. So far as I know we did not set sail to look for things useful but to seek honour and adventures. And here is as great an adventure as ever I heard of, and here, if we turn back, no little impeachment of all our honours.”

 C. S. Lewis The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

 

Leave a Reply

