Sing a Sad Song Merle Haggard 1937-2016

Here’s what my son Matthew wrote to me from Minneapolis a few minutes ago.

Merle Haggard: April 6, 1937 – April 6, 2016

Child of the Dust Bowl. Ex-convict. Bard of the working man, the poor, inmates, outlaws, drifters, and fugitives. Multi-instrumentalist and a helluva singer. A man who thought no country band complete without a tenor sax and maybe a trombone, and who preferred a fedora to a Stetson. A voice as familiar and dear to me as an old friend’s. He’ll live on in his music.

Thanks for taking me to see him (and Willie and Ray) when I was younger.  One of my cherished memories.  Glad I saw him in August, too.  When he pulled out his fiddle on one of the final tunes, the guy behind me said to his wife, “Boy he’s a talented old coot…”

I’m going to spend the evening sipping Maker’s Mark and listening to all the Merle I can.  Wish you could join me.

One thought on “Sing a Sad Song Merle Haggard 1937-2016

Leave a Reply

