Three Darks Come Down Together by Robert Francis

Image result for david utiger

 etching by David Utiger

Robert Francis 1901-1987 was born in Pennsylvania and lived in Amherst, Massachusetts most of his life.

Three Darks Come Down Together

Three darks come down together,
Thee darks close in around me:
Day dark, year dark, dark weather.

They whisper and conspire,
They search me and they sound me
Hugging my private fire.

Day done, year done, storm blowing,
Three darknesses impound me
With dark of white snow snowing.

Three darks gang up to end me,
To browbeat and dumbfound me.
Three future lights defend me.

One thought on “Three Darks Come Down Together by Robert Francis

Leave a Reply

