The Maximum Security Book Club, Reading Literature in a Men’s Prison by Mikita Brottman

When we look back on our lives, it’s tempting to seek out paths, patterns, influential figures and standout moments of revelation…Something I’ve learned from literature is that trajectories appear only in retrospect. In the present all we see are the ordinary ups and downs of everyday affairs.  p. 61

As I drove home that day, I figured most of the men hadn’t really been able to follow much of the text [Macbeth], but I wasn’t worried. When I’d first read the play myself, I remember being fascinated by the images conjured up b the strange words on the page. I had the feeling I was somehow reading through the language to the direct emotion beneath.  p. 115

Leave a Reply

